About Us

Greater Iowa Credit Union is a member-owned, not-for-profit financial cooperative serving some 31,000 members throughout a 33-county area in central and western Iowa. With financial assets of more than $347 million and a staff of approximately 90, Greater Iowa offers a full range of financial services at six branch locations in Ames, Greater Des Moines, Indianola and Denison.

The Iowa Credit Union Division oversees Greater Iowa on the state level, while the National Credit Union Administration provides federal oversight. All Greater Iowa deposits are insured up to $500,000, $250,000 by NCUA and an additional $250,000 insured by Excess Share Insurance Corporation.

Begun in 1932 by employees of Iowa State College, Greater Iowa has had a long relationship with the university, and until 2002 was named the ISU Community Credit Union.

The driving force of the credit union's philosophy is "Not for profit, not for charity, but for service-people helping people."

Related Documents