New board members elected

May 15, 2012

Pictured is the Greater Iowa Credit Union 2012-13 Board of Directors. Front (from left): Don Wirth, Max Porter, Steve Vardeman, Linda Ashby and Donald Tebben. Back (from left): Kristopher Stow, Jody Danielson, Michael Welter, Craig Forney, Jay Black and Jan Flick.










Members of Greater Iowa Credit Union elected five members to serve on the volunteer board of directors at the credit union’s 80th annual meeting on Saturday, May 12, 2012.

Linda Ashby, Jody Danielson, Kristopher Stow and Steve Vardeman were elected to a three-year term. Michael Welter was elected to a two-year term.  
Ashby, an incumbent, is a sales associate with Prudential First Realty in Des Moines. Danielson is a program coordinator and business manager for the Iowa State University chemical and biological engineering department. Stow is a freshman at Iowa State University and is employed part-time at the Ames Public Library. Vardeman, an incumbent, is an Iowa State University Professor of Statistics. Michael Welter is a team leader for Story Construction Co. Inc. commercial building team.
The Greater Iowa Credit Union board of directors consists of 11 members who oversee policies and the strategic direction of the credit union. The board directs the credit union according to fiduciary, state and federal regulatory responsibilities, and ensures that the financial needs and expectations of the credit union membership are addressed and met.
Greater Iowa Credit Union is a not-for-profit financial institution with more than 31,000 members and assets of more than $298 million. Greater Iowa has branches in Ames, Des Moines, West Des Moines and Denison. For more information, visit



For More Information:

Rebecca Anderson

senior marketing specialist

515.956.3081 or 1.800.296.9064