Project Classroom Grant Program

Project Classroom header

Application Period Application Period Awards Winners Notified
Spring 2020 January 13 – February 16 Four $1,000 grants awarded Winners will be contacted in March. 
Fall 2020 August 10 - September 13 Four $1,000 grants awarded Winners will be contacted in October.

We understand that money is tight for teachers. That’s why we’ve developed a special grant program to allow teachers to purchase items they may not otherwise be able to afford. Greater Iowa Credit Union offers Project Classroom, a grant program for K-8 teachers. In 2020, eight grants of $1,000 each, 4 in the spring and 4 in the fall, will be awarded to teachers within the 33 counties of GICU's membership area (see list below).

Ideas & Criteria

Project Classroom grant funds can be used for classroom supplies, technology, equipment, field trips – there are plenty of possibilities!

  • Does the project enhance the academic environment in the classroom and contribute toward academic achievement among the teacher’s students?
  • Does the project have compelling, creative or unique features which makes it stand out from traditional approaches to classroom teaching?
  • Are the project costs adequately detailed in the essay/proposal?
  • If funded with a grant, would the project have the support of the school’s administration?

Please note that all questions must be answered for application to be considered. If project will exceed $1,000 please explain how the additional funds will be supplied. 

Greater Iowa’s Membership Area

Adair ​Grundy ​Monona
Audubon Guthrie ​Polk
Boone ​Hamilton ​Poweshiek
Butler ​Hardin ​Sac
Calhoun ​Harrison ​Shelby
Carroll Ida ​Story
Clarke ​Jasper ​Tama
Crawford ​Lucas ​Warren
Dallas Madison ​Webster
Franklin ​Marion ​Woodbury
Greene ​Marshall ​Wright

Congratulations to our Fall 2019 Project Classroom Winners!

project classroom presentation belmond-klemme project classroom presentation southeast polk

Callie Stein
Belmond-Klemme Community School

Trista Logan
Southeast Polk Community School District 

project classroom presentation kate mitcehll project classroom presentation paton-churdan

Renee Ratliff 
Ames Community Schools

Miranda Steinkamp
Paton-Churdan Community School District

Project Classroom is also supported by:

FOX 17 logo